Sheet music search made easy
Rev. Gary Davis: The Video Collection on DVD Sheet Music
Rev. Gary Davis: The Video Collection on DVD
Write your own review
Share with your friends
Price: $19.96
Available for sale by
Sheet Music Plus
Show Store Details

Tweet about this sheet music
for a chance to get it for free!
Add to wish list to buy later
Rev. Gary Davis: The Video Collection on DVD by Rev. Gary Davis. For Guitar (Flatpicking). Concert/Documentary. Vestapol. Blues. DVD. Duration 105 minutes. Published by Grossman's Guitar Workshop (MB.13111DVD).
The first two tracks are taken from a short film that played in theatres in the early 1960s. This was shot while Rev. Davis lived in the Bronx. The filmmaker was very interested in the ambience but we do get a chance to see Rev. Davis play. Pete Seeger's Rainbow Quest had one show that featured Rev. Davis along with Donovan and Shawn Phillips. The next two tunes are from this program. In 1969 Rev. Davis traveled to Seattle, Washington to play for the Folkore Society. Tracks 5-12 were filmed by the Anthropology Department of the University of Washington at the home of John Ullman.. This is rough footage but shows Rev. Davis relaxed amongst friends and his trusty cigar! During that stay John was able to take Rev. Davis in to a proper television studio and tracks 15-23 are from this session. These are seminal performances. The independent filmmaker Lionel Rogosin brought Rev. Davis together with other musicians for his film Black Roots. Tracks 24-26 are from this film. This collection ends with some very rough footage from the wedding celebration of John Gibbon (one of Rev. Davis's earliest New York students). This was originally recorded on reel to reel tape and over the years the tape disintegrated. So what we have left is a faint video image with good sound that shows Rev. Davis enjoying himself at a party with friends.
Song(s) in this release:
  • (I Heard) The Angels Singing
  • Advice on Playing Guitar
  • Buck Dance
  • Calling for Irene
  • Candyman
  • Children of Zio
  • Cincinnati Flow Rag (Slow Drag)
  • Death Don't Have No Mercy
  • Guitar Lesson (Twelve Gates To The City)
  • Hard Walkin' Blues
  • I Belong To The Band
  • Keep Your Lamp Trimmed And Burning
  • Lord, I Feel Like Goin'
  • Make Believe Stunt
  • Oh Glory How Happy I Am
  • Sally Where'd You Get Your Liquor From
  • Samson And Delilah
  • She's Just Funny That Way
  • Spoonful
  • Sun Is Goin' Down
  • Talk on Death
  • Twelve Gates To The City
  • Twelve Gates To The City (Instrumental)
  • Twelve Sticks
  • Wouldn't Say Quit
This sheet music has not received any reviews yet, you can be the first one to write one!
Write your own review
Sheet Music Plus
Sheet Music Plus offers one of the world's largest selection of sheet music. Their collection includes music books, music sheets, songbooks, music scores, choral sheet music in many genres.
This store has not received any reviews yet, you can be the first one to write one!
Write your own review